Facts about the State of Hawaii

Capital City: Honolulu
Statehood: August 21, 1959 (50th)
Population: 1.2 million
Nickname: The Aloha State
Motto: Ua mau ke ea o ka aina I ka pono (The life of the land is perpetuated in righteousness.)
Land Area: 6,427 sq. mi.; 47th largest
Highest Point: Mauna Kea, 13,796 ft.
State Bird: Nene (Hawaiian goose - endangered)
State Fish: Humuhumunukunukuapa'a
State Song: Hawaii Ponoi - Hawaii's Own

The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands: Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kaho'olawe and the Big Island of Hawaii. Each Island has its own official color and flower:

Island flowers and colors used to represent each island.
Niihau - Pupu Shell - White
Kauai - Mokihana (Green Berry) - Purple
Oahu - Ilima -Yellow
Maui - Lokelani (Pink Cottage Rose) - Pink
Molokai - White Kukui Blossom - Green
Lanai - Kaunaoa (Yellow and Orange Air Plant) - Orange
Kahoolawe - Hinahina (Beach Heliotrope) - Grey
Big Island of Hawaii - Lehua Ohia - Red

Try our new Hawaii FunFacts Crossword Puzzle

Click here to print and solve our easy fun facts puzzle!
Click here for a more challenging puzzle you can solve online (requires JavaScript)

More fun facts

Hawaii is the most isolated population center on the face of the earth. Hawaii is 2,390 miles from California; 3,850 miles from Japan; 4,900 miles from China; and 5,280 miles from the Philippines.

The Hawaiian Islands are the projecting tops of the biggest mountain range in the world. The Hawaiian Archipelago consists of hundreds of small islands stretching some 1,600 miles in length from the Kure Atoll in the north to the Island of Hawaii in the south.

There are no racial or ethnic majorities in Hawaii. Everyone is a minority. Caucasians (Haoles) constitute about 33%; Japanese-American about 33%; Filipino-American about 16% and Chinese-American about 5%. It is very difficult to determine racial identification as most of the population has some mixture of ethnicities.

Hawaii has its own time zone (Hawaiian Standard Time.) There is no daylight savings time.) The time runs two hours behind Pacific Standard Time and five hours behind Eastern Standard Time. When the mainland goes on daylight savings time, we're three hours behind Pacific Daylight time and six hours behind Eastern Daylight time.

The highest recorded temperature is 96 degrees. Temperatures hover near 90 in August and September. Temperatures in December or January hover around 75 degrees. The ocean temperature varies from about 72 degrees in the winter to around 82 degrees in the summer.

The island of O'ahu is 44 miles long by 25 miles wide. Mount Ka’ala is the highest point on Oahu, rising 4,020 feet above sea level. Mount Ka’ala is the highest point on Oahu, rising 4,020 feet above sea level.

The star that rises directly above Honolulu is Arcturus. The Hawaiians called it Hokule'a. (star of gladness). This star helped the original Polynesians locate the Hawaiian Islands. It's still used as a guide star by the Hawaiian Voyaging association when aboard the Hokule'a and Hawaii Loa (replicas of original voyaging canoes).

The entire island of Oahu belongs to the City and County of Honolulu. In fact, the chain of uninhabited islands known as the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands and stretching for over 1000 miles northwest of Kaua’i are part of the City of Honolulu, making it the “largest” city in the world. Honolulu is about 1,500 miles long or more distance than halfway across the 48 contiguous states. Honolulu is the nation's 11th largest metropolitan area. Iolani Palace in the heart of downtown Honolulu is the only royal palace in the United States.

Copyright 2008 PCRobin.com - All Rights Reserved